PEStore

Buyout PE

IMB

IMB acquires controlling stakes in established, profitable businesses, from Bethesda, United States. It states a focus on energy & utilities and business & professional services.

Disclosed holdings12
Earliest stated investment2014
HeadquartersBethesda, United States
Largest single fundNot stated

Stated investment criteria

What IMB says it buys

Read from IMB’s own website in August 2026. This is what the firm says it buys, not what anyone has recorded it buying, and figures are shown in the currency the firm itself used - nothing here is converted. Every line links to the page it was read from.

Minimum revenue it states$100m1
EBITDA it states$2m to $15m1
Transaction typesAdd-on, Carve-out1
Stated holding periodLong-term hold period1
Founded20103
People listed on its team page162

A stated mandate is a firm’s description of itself and was true of the page on the day it was read; firms widen and narrow what they will look at without updating the site. The team figure counts the people the firm shows on one team page, so it is a floor rather than a headcount: firms that split their team across tabs or load it in pages will read low. Nothing here is a commitment by IMB to consider any particular business, and nothing on this page is represented as being for sale.

Regulatory record

How IMB is registered

From this firm's Form ADV, the annual filing every registered and exempt investment adviser makes to the SEC.

Adviser statusExempt reporting adviser
Regulatory assets under managementNot reported by an ERA
Private funds advised7 · $247m gross
SEC adviser numberCRD 316685

An exempt reporting adviser is not required to report regulatory assets under management, so the blank above means the question was not asked rather than that the answer is unknown. Where a figure exists it is the gross asset value of the private funds the firm advises, which is a different and usually larger measure.

Portfolio

Disclosed holdings

Companies IMB lists on its own website. 8 carry a stated investment year.

CompanyInvestedYears heldRecorded transaction
IMB Solutions201412
e&e201412
LaFata Contract Services20188
Ashburn Consulting LLC20206
Pro Food Solutions20206
Carr & Duff20224
Farwest Corrosion Control20224
eTelligent Group20233
Alder Foods
Elite Brands - collectively AREA Holdings
Ene It Consulting
Richmond Wholesale

Compiled from IMB’s published portfolio page. Where a recorded transaction is shown, that company was the target of a reported deal and has most likely already been realised. Nothing here is represented as being for sale.

Valuation context

Transaction values in Energy & Utilities

What companies have actually sold for in energy & utilities, across 584 recorded transactions.

Median consideration$180m
Middle 50%$45m-$420m
Revenue multiple1.4×
EBITDA multiple7.1×

The full energy & utilities picture - most active acquirers, recent transactions and every investor in the sector.

For owners

Own a energy & utilities business?

The investors on this page acquire companies like yours. A confidential valuation costs nothing, commits you to nothing, and nobody is told you asked.

Request a confidential valuation

For investors

Is this IMB?

Claim this profile to correct anything wrong and tell us what you are looking for. We will send matching opportunities as they arise.

Claim or correct this profile

Targeted buyer search

Which hundred of these would actually buy your business?

A researched shortlist with a verified deal-team contact for each, and the reason it is on the list. Fixed fee, from $1,450 - or we make the approach for you and hand you the conversations.

See how it works

Comparable investors

Similar mandates

Other buyout pe investors active in energy & utilities.